



President of the European Parliament Mr David Maria Sassoli

President of the EU Council Mr Charles Michel

President-in-Office of the Council of the European Union Mr António Costa

President of the European Commission Ms Ursula von der Leyen

Lisbon, 16 February 2021

Dear Excellencies,

The COREPER, on 3 February, adopted a revised Council position on the Conference on the Future, as proposed by the Presidency. Regarding the involvement of representatives of the national Parliaments on the newly established executive board of the Conference, the revised Council position (No. 12) stipulates that this board should be "composed of up to three representatives of the European Parliament, the Council (the rotating Presidency and the two which will follow) and the European Commission on an equal footing, as well as the current and incoming COSAC rotating presidencies, as observers.".

Representing the current members of national Parliaments at the COSAC Troika, we want to express our expectations concerning the role designated to the national Parliaments and we would like to recall the request lastly mentioned in the letter to the Presidents of the three institutions sent on 2 December 2020, co-signed by 34 chairpersons of EU Affairs committees from 24 Member States, in which national Parliaments have clearly called for their appropriate involvement in the Conference, which was noted by the European Commission and the European Parliament on their replies. In particular, we reiterate the importance of the involvement of national Parliaments in the organisation of the Conference, ideally on an equal footing and with the same number of representatives of the Institutions.





We thus consider that either the COSAC troika or the current and the two incoming COSAC rotating presidencies have to represent national Parliaments at the executive board. Moreover, and bearing in mind the role and participation that national Parliaments are to play during the Conference, as well as their closeness with the European citizens, national Parliaments must have the possibility to actively take part in the discussions within the executive board.

We therefore urgently ask you to work towards an active role of national Parliaments to be enshrined in the Joint Declaration to be adopted by the three institutions.

Yours sincerely,

On behalf of the members of national Parliaments at the COSAC Troika

hunder And

Luís Capoulas Santos

Chair of the European Affairs Committee of the Assembleia da República

Co-signatories:

Gunther Krichbaum Chair of the Committee on European Union Affairs German Bundestag

Guido Wolf Chairman of the Committee on European Union Questions German Bundesrat





Marko Pogačnik

Chair of the Committee on European Union Affairs Slovenian National Assembly

Bojan Kekec

Chair of the Committee on International Relations and European Affairs Slovenian National Council

Sabine Thillaye

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs French National Assembly

Yves Cruchten

Chair of the Committee on Foreign and European Affairs, Cooperation, Immigration and Asylum Luxembourg Chamber of Deputies

Eva Kjer Hansen

Chair of the European Affairs Committee Danish Parliament

Christian Buchman

Chair of the European Union Committee Austrian Bundesrat

Reinhold Lopatka

Chair of the Permanent Subcommittee on EU Affairs Austrian Nationalrat

Yiorgos Lillikas

Chair of the Foreign and European Affairs Committee Cyprus Parliament

Satu Hassi

Chair of the Grand Committee Finnish Eduskunta

Mikuláš Bek

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs Czech Senate

Domagoj Hajduković

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs Croatian Parliament

Vita Anda Terauda

Chairperson of the European Affairs Committee Parliament of Latvia

Dragomir Stoynev

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs and Oversight of the European Funds **Bulgarian National Assembly**





Hayke Veldman

Chair of the European Affairs Committee **Dutch House of Representatives**

Angel Tîlvăr

Chair of the European Affairs Committee Romanian Senate

Emanuel Mallia

Chair of the Foreign and European Affairs Committee Parliament of Malta

Ondřej Benešík

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs Czech Chamber of Deputies

Nikitas Kaklamanis

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs Hellenic Parliament

Sergio Battelli

Chair of the European Union Policies Committee Italian Chamber of Deputies

Anita Czerwińska

Deputy Chairperson of the European Union Affairs Committee Polish Sejm

Tomáš Valášek

Chair of the European Affairs Committee Slovak National Council

Dario Stefàno

Chair of the Committee on European Union Affairs Italian Senate

Gaëtan Van Goidsenhoven

Co-Chair of the Federal Advisory Committee on European Affairs Belgian Senate

Radvilė Morkūnaitė-Mikulėnienė

Chair of the European Union Affairs Committee Lithuanian Seimas

Jean-François Rapin

Chair of the European Affairs Committee French Senate





Richárd Hörcsik

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs **Hungarian National Assembly**

Bogdan Klich

Chair of the Foreign and European Affairs Committee Polish Senate

Siim Kallas

Chair of the European Union Affairs Committee Estonian Riigikogu

Eliane Tillieux

Chair of the EU Affairs Committee Belgian House of Representatives

Susana Sumelzo Jordán

Chair of the Joint Committee for the European Union Affairs **Spanish Cortes Generales**

Ştefan Muşoiu

Chair of the Committee on European Affairs Romanian Chamber of Deputies

Comissão Parlamentar de Assuntos Europeus

Assembleia da República Palácio de S. Bento - 1249-068 Lisboa - Portugal

Telefone: +351 213917435 E-mail: 4cae@ar.parlamento.pt

